Our Historic Building
The Second Universalist Society of Stamford was officially organized on April 3, 1841. The first building was constructed on Atlantic Square at the current site of the Old Town Hall. In 1868, the City of Stamford bought the site, and the members of the Society recognized an opportunity to obtain an improved location and a more adequate structure. Our historic Gothic Revival building was erected in 1870 and dedicated on December 29 of that year.
A few years after the main building was built, land to the east was purchased and the parsonage, a gift from William Hubbard and Edward Phillips, was built. The kitchen was an addition in 1906. The Sunday school building was the final addition in 1964.
The main building is a rare survivor of the English Country Gothic style in what was once rural and is now an urban area. It occupies a highly visible corner in downtown Stamford at the intersection of three major roads, Bedford, Prospect and Forest Streets. The style is unique and is one of only two survivors in the city. It is considered to be the finest example of this style in the area. The church and rectory are listed on the National Register of Historic Places and are also part of the Downtown Historic District.